With three days of sold out screenings, over 2,500 people in attendance, and one of the biggest swells of the year hitting the East Coast, the stellar first year of the New York Surf Film Festival (NYSFF) wrapped up on Sunday with an Awards Ceremony and after party at the Redbull Space.

The NYSFF held from September 26-28 featured an unprecedented arrangement of twenty-four films from around the world, intimate Q&A sessions with the filmmakers and lively parties with libations courtesy of Barefoot Wine and Veev Spirits.

At the awards ceremony, festival co-founder Tyler Breuer acted as the emcee presenting the winner in The Best Feature Film category to “Musica Surfica”, the story of a diverse group of surfers who travel to King Island to surf without fins directed by Mick Sowry. “It is such an honor to have Mick Sowry fly in from Australia for the New York Surf Film Festival. I feel that this movie really pushes surfers to look at surfing from a completely different perspective, yet it remains close to the core of what surfing is,” said NYSFF co- founder Tyler Breuer.

Special recognition was also given in The Best Short Film category awarding director Matt Katsolis for his film “Distant Shores.”

The esteemed Viewers Choice Award Presented by Jet Blue deservingly went to “The Rocks” directed by New Jersey native Mark Temme. “The Rocks” reveals a glimpse into the remarkable breaks within the city limits of Rockaway Beach, and the strong surfing culture that surrounds these exceptional breaks. In addition to the acknowledgement, Temme received two tickets and an all expense paid trip to Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic Courtesy of Jet Blue and the Dominican Republic Tourism Board.

Another highlight of the weekend included a rare question and answer session with legendary “Big Wednesday” creators John Milius and Denny Aaberg as well as a live narration of “Little Wednesday,” a short documentary on the making of “Big Wednesday.”

Other Q&A sessions with the NYSFF film directors included The Rocks: Mark Temme, Peel: The Peru Project: Wes Brown, TJ Barrack, Musica Surfica: Mick Sowry, Pulp, Poo and Perfection: Joshua Berry, One Winter Story: Elizabeth Ropin Silva, Distant Shores: Matt Katsolis, Bustin Down the Door: Jeremy Gosch and Robert Traill, June: Christian Driggs, Archy: Bill Ballard, Bonzer Mothership: Malcom Campbell, Kooks: Peter Cesaro, and Between The Lines: Ty Ponder, Troy Page.

The New York Surf Film Festival brought together avid surfers, legendary surf photographers, film buffs and New York City audiences fascinated by the sport. It was a celebration of both the East Coast surf community but also the artistic integrity of the surf film genre.