What: World Masters Surfing Champs

Where: Punta Rocas, Peru

When: 29 March - 6 April 2008

Team South Africa continues its reign as the undisputed king of world masters surfing after trumping the world’s best surfers aged 35+ to win the overall team crown at the 2008 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship in perfect point break waves at Punta Rocas in Peru this weekend.

Led by individual gold medalists Heather Clark (Masters Women), Marc Wright (Kahunas) and Chris Knutsen (Grand Kahunas), South Africa blew away the competition to take their second consecutive Team World Championship. South Africa finished on top with 10,500 points, 1100 ahead of Australia in second, with Brazil (9041) finishing in third. The Peruvian team rounded out the top four with 8766-points.

The final day of competition offered solid 1-1.5 metre waves for the 'Masters Olympics of Surfing'. The ISA World Masters Surfing Championship is a team competition with individual standings adding points towards the team total. The nation who places highest in each division will win the gold medal in the team standings, earning the status of the best over 35 surfing country in the world.

Final Results


South Africa




Puerto Rico


Gold: Juan Ashton (PRC)

Silver: Ricardo Toledo (BRA)

Bronze: Rob Page (AUS)

Copper: Jay Sharpe (AUS)

Grand Masters

Gold: Rob Page (AUS)

Silver: Magoo de la Rosa (PER)

Bronze: Jojó de Olivença (BRA)

Copper: Andre Malherbe (ZAF)


Gold: Marc Wright (ZAF)

Silver: Nick Pike (ZAF)

Bronze: Jorge Posso (PER)

Copper: Rod Baldwin (AUS)

Grand Kahunas

Gold: Chris Knutsen (ZAF)

Silver: Paco del Castillo (PER)

Bronze: Frank Hayter (AUS)

Copper: René González (PRC)

Women Masters

Gold: Heather Clark (ZAF)

Silver: Rocío Larrañaga (PER)

Bronze: Sandra English (AUS)

Copper: Briggite Mayer (BRA)