What: World Masters Surfing Champs, International Surfing Association

Where: Punta Rocas, Peru

When: 29 March - 6 April 2008

Surfing returned to its roots today with the 2008 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship officially opened in Peru.

Lima, which last held the World Championship in 1965, was once again in the surfing spotlight with teams from as far a field as Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Ecuador, France, Guatemala, Great Britain, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Puerto Rico, South Africa, Switzerland and Tahiti gathering for the 'Sands of the World' Opening Ceremony at Redondo Beach, Lima.

Peru will get a taste of world surfing action for the first time in over forty years when day one of the ISA World Masters Surfing Championship kicks off this morning with the opening rounds of the Masters (Over 35), Grand Masters (Over 40) and Kahuna divisions (Over 45) at Puntas Rocas, Peru. Excellent 1.5-metre waves are forecast with an increase predicted swell on Tuesday.

The ISA World Masters Surfing Championship is a team competition. The nation who places highest in each division will win the gold medal in the team standings, earning the status of the best over 35 surfing country in the world. Individual standings will add points towards the team totals.

The divisions are:

Masters: Over 35 years old

Grand Masters: Over 40 years old

Kahunas: Over 45 years old

Grand Kahunas: Over 50 years old

Masters Women: Women over 35 years old

A complete team is formed by eight athletes: two Masters, two Grand Masters and two Kahunas, a Grand Kahuna and a Master Woman. The top four finalists in each division are awarded gold, silver, bronze and copper medals, as well as the top four national teams.